Stories and Sweets

20130808-230704.jpg
The other day I was in the mood for baking. However, I was already at the grocery store, so I thought and thought about what to make. I wasn’t feeling the basic boxed mix-of-something route, so I decided to go with boxed mix-of-something plus chocolate chips and minus an egg.I wanted to make red velvet brownies, and then I also made them in cupcake tins, and it kinda ended up more like red velvet chocolate chip cupcakes.
I’m not exactly complaining…
My favorite thing to pair with cupcakes is a cup of milk and a good book. This summer I read Will Grayson, Will Grayson by John Green and David Levithan, and I am currently reading Brave New World by Aldous Huxley, in addition to my two summer reading books (Their Eyes Were Watching God and River Cross My Heart).
Will Grayson, Will Grayson was a cute story, but it’s not my favorite John Green novel. I enjoyed it, but the storyline was a little bit too “teen-angsty” for me.
I like Brave New World thus far, but I’m not far enough along to have an informed opinion. I can’t say I like it quite as much as I liked George Orwell’s 1984, which I also read this summer.

The recipe for the cupcakes is:
1 box of red velvet cake mix
1 stick of butter, melted
1 egg
1/2 cup water
1 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips

1. Preheat oven to 325 F.
2. Mix egg, melted butter, and water together in a bowl.
3. Add the boxed mix and stir until smooth.
4. Stir in chocolate chips.
5. Spoon into cupcake tins and bake for 18-23 minutes (or what your boxed mix says for cupcakes). Remove from oven and let cool for 15 minutes. They are delicious with cream cheese spread on top (try whipped cream cheese for easy spreading).
Enjoy!
~Katrina

Leave a Reply

