My skincare routine and DIY Microdermabrasion

I don’t know if I’ve ever shared this on this blog, but my skin is SUPER SENSITIVE. I can’t really use anything with fragrance, I get hives.
This is worst for me in the area of skin care. I can’t really use any lotions, I moisturize with Vaseline (not my face haha). I can’t really use any cleansers, I just splash my face with water (luckily I have good skin!). I can’t use perfume, strongly scented shampoo or conditioner, strongly scented hand soaps, very fragrant deodorants, lip products with fragrance, etc. If it has fragrance, I probably don’t and can’t use it.
I also don’t really have to money to buy Clinique stuff, or at least not a lot of it. Also, my current routine seems to work for my skin right now, and I have good genetics so I luckily do not get bad or even moderate acne.
If I do break out, it’s hormonal and in my T-zone. Otherwise, I have minimal pimples, although I do have some blackheads on my chin I have tried desperately to get rid of, ugh!
Anyways, what I currently do is:
– When I wake up in the morning, I splash my face with cold water. This helps me wake up and rinse off any dirt/oil on my face.
– Then, I put on the Repair Lotion from the Acne Free Clear Skin System (I don’t know where the cleanser and toner are haha). The repair lotion contains 2.5% benzoyl peroxide, which helps keep my skin from getting too oily, and I apply a small amount all over my T-zone.
– At night, I rinse my face with warm water, and GENTLY remove any makeup. I do not use soap for this, I just GENTLY use q-tips and toilet paper on my wet face to remove any stubborn makeup. If it still doesn’t completely come off, I put on a little bit of petroleum jelly on top of the makeup and just wipe it off. It works great!
*****Note: Petroleum jelly (aka Vaseline) will not clog your pores. It is classified as
non-comodogenic, meaning it will will not clog pores.
– Then I apply a 10% benzoyl peroxide gel onto problem areas only. I don’t do this every night, but if I have a breakout or a large pimple in a certain area I will apply it. I only do this at night (and not often) because 10% benzoyl peroxide can be very drying, and the product leaves a bit of a residue so I don’t want to walk around in public with white flaky stuff on my face haha…

-Also, about once or twice a week I put about 2 tablespoons of baking soda in a cup (one I can reach my hand in) and add a little bit of water. I then take is up to the shower with me, and gently rub it on my face in circular motions while in the shower, concentrating in my T-zone but also being sure to get my cheeks. Baking soda is very fine, but also has slightly abrasive qualities, so it can help remove dead skin cells. This keeps my pores for getting clogged up with sebum and creating a pimple.
I use baking soda because it is a good scrub, isn’t sticky like using sugar would be, and is FRAGRANCE FREE!!!! Yay!

You, too, can do this baking soda microdermabrasion!
All you need is baking soda, water, and a cup that your hand fits into, so you can get the baking soda paste out of the cup.
Just a tip: don’t do this right before an event, such as a party. It could cause minor irritation and leave your face a bit red.
Also, don’t do this more than twice a week, as exfoliating too often can irritate your skin.

Good luck!
~Kat 🙂

Leave a Reply

